Countdown to Kickoff: 35 Days

Embed from Getty Images

35.  Ohio State has won 35 Big 10 championships during their history, second only to that school up north, who has 42. The two schools have combined for roughly 45% of all of the conference’s championships, and the next highest total is Minnesota with 18. Historically the Big 10 has been a two horse race but with Penn State, Michigan State and Wisconsin all finding success in recent years things have been a little more exciting. The parity has helped bring the Big 10 into the discussion as the country’s premier, although I think the general consensus is that that title still belongs to the SEC. A few more College Football Playoff appearances and another national championship or two may swing things into the Big 10’s favor. I’m thinking the Buckeyes knock one of each off the list this year, but it all starts with Big 10
championship number 36.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s