Countdown to Kickoff: 14 Days

Embed from Getty Images

14. Ohio State’s last national title came just 3 short years ago following the 2014 season. That was the first year of the new college football playoff system. The year got off to a rough start with starting quarterback Braxton Miller re-injuring his surgically repaired shoulder in training camp, ending his season before it even began. Freshman quarterback JT Barrett was thrust into the starting role, but the Buckeyes stumbled out of the gate, losing at home to a mediocre Virginia Tech team during the second week of the season. While things were looking bleak at the time, Ohio State righted the ship and Barrett went on to have one of the greatest seasons for a quarterback in OSU history. Heading into the last game of the year against Michigan the Buckeyes were flying high, having climbed back up to #6 in the AP poll. Things once again took a turn for the worst when JT Barrett went down with a broken leg late in the game, ending his season as well. The outlook was not positive for the Buckeyes as they were essentially down to their third string quarterback heading into the Big 10 Championship game against Wisconsin. That all changed with a 59-0 OSU rout, and from there the Buckeyes went on to defeat Alabama and Oregon to become the first ever champion in the new College Football Playoff era. The 2014 season had its ups and downs, but will ultimately go down as one of the best seasons in OSU history.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s